Fate?

One of my friends posed the question on Facebook: Do you believe in fate?

It’s an interesting question, one that makes you stop and think. Or at least, it makes me stop to think. It’s a loaded question. If the answer is yes, then it takes the control for what happens in your life out of your hands. If the answer is no, then everything just seems like chaos.

My answer is yes, but not because I want something to decide my life for me. There are fixed points in time. Things that happen because everything leads to them. There’s no way around it.

Plus, there’s always something we’re supposed to be doing with our lives. Sometimes we run from it. Sometimes we embrace it. We’re happiest when we embrace it, when we use all the talents that the universe gave to us.

This is the question I needed to be asked, because it broke through the hopeless funk surrounding me. My fate is something far greater than working a retail job that I have no real interest in. It’s linked to the insane dreams I have, and the horrible sense of righteousness that envelopes me when I’m not entirely paying attention. I need to stop being afraid of what might happen, of rejection, and just put myself out there.

Seems like a fantastic idea, now I just need to do it.

Leave a Reply

