My last two months, the abbreviated version.

I know it’s been a while, over two months actually. A lot has happened, more than a lot. It’s been the sort of two months that makes a girl realize what she really wants from life, what things are important and what things aren’t. Yeah. That sounds about right.

Let’s start at the beginning, well, more like the middle. Back in February, my boyfriend decided he wanted to break up. There was a bit of crying on my part. Okay, so a lot of crying, and a bit of denial. Then, the inevitable knowledge of my needing to find a new place to live kicked in and right along with it the understanding that I had no money. Well, I had money, but certainly not enough to survive on my own.

I started looking for another job, because moving without money won’t happen. I ended up getting a promotion at my current job to full time, complete with a nice raise in pay. So, that was no longer a problem. Then came the looking for a place to live. Oswego is a college town, and as such, about 90% of the leases run from June to May. Sometimes people have to move early, and there are places that rent year round because they prefer non-students, but I kept striking out there.

Then, through a job, my ex found a possible place for me to live. It’s a nice little one bedroom apartment with the living room and kitchen downstairs and the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. I like it, and I’m sure it not being painted some lame neutral color has a lot to do with that. But, also, it’s my own space, one that I can use however I want as long as I stay within the terms of the lease.

I moved in last Sunday, or rather, started the process last Sunday. I tried to get my power set up, but they required a copy of the lease, which ended up buried in the moving process. So, they shut my power off on Friday before I could fax it. It’s back on now, thankfully.

So, here I am. In my own apartment, single, but optimistic for what the future holds. I’ve been writing more furiously than in a long time, like some horrible blockage melted away. So, yes, I’m good despite all the random, not so pleasant things that have happened in the past two months. As a good friend told me, when the dust settles, I always seem to be doing better than before. I hope it’s starting to settle, because I’m ready for the next thing.

Leave a Reply

