I might have forgotten what working an incredible time sink of a job is like.

Apparently working a “part-time” job makes me negligent in my blogging duties. I put part-time in quotes because I’ve been over their hour threshold for part-time three out of the five weeks I’ve worked. I do like the money. I’m good with that part, I’m just tired of the standard practice in retail of working someone more hours than you hired them for and being able to get away with it for a certain number of weeks.

It means I could work for ten weeks in a row at more then the part-time marker and if I’m under it the eleventh, they can put be back above week twelve because week eleven reset the count. Which, by the way, I think is a stupid way to run things. Maybe that’s why I’m drawn to writing. Things are what they are there. I get told I’m getting paid so much a word and that’s what it is. It behooves me to write more words, but if they aren’t quality, then they won’t get bought anyway.

I’m sure some would say that’s a simplistic view of life, but if more things were straightforward and lacked the thinly veiled bullshit maybe people would be happier. Though, I’m certain some people would find something else to mope about. People are that way.

Since I have a few hours yet before I need to think about getting ready to go to the day job, I’m going to start this next chapter. I know I’m going to have to do some serious restructuring of the chapters when I get done. There are pieces to fill in earlier in the book and I think I missed a few good end points on my way through. We’ll see how that works out. And, this week I have two days off in a row. That means cleaning and writing. Mostly writing. A lot of writing. Because that makes everything else seem a little better.

Leave a Reply

