Reflections on 27 and Hopes for being 28.

My birthday was Friday. I am now 28. In high school, that number felt so far away, the thought of being 30 never entered my mind. Now it sort of looms there, waiting for me with an open embrace and the promise that, really, things are just getting started. Because I’ve already done more in the last year than I’ve done in the previous ones and I’m certain that won’t stop.

I flew for the first time, and as far as first times go, it was a bit dodgy with the small commuter jet and the persistent rumble of the engine. The clouds were amazing, the landscapes of shadow and light above the cold mix of rain and snow beneath us.

I went to my first huge convention, PAX East. It was more and less than I expected, but it pulled me from a comfort zone and I’m glad for that. We’re going again this coming year (driving out this time. Six hours, but we get to spend more time in Boston, so I’m game.) which, when I think about does make me excited. I’m planning on going to more panels this time and milling about a bit more. I need to stretch that comfort zone a bit more and work on not getting annoyed with people just trying to do the same thing I’m trying to do.

I received my Masters’ degree. (Now to pay off the loans. Not looking forward to that bit.) It’s one of those things I’m glad I have, but it also leaves me with a bit of sadness because maybe I shouldn’t have spent quite so much money I didn’t have on school. The thing being that at the time, I needed to go back for my own sanity and my healing process. Now, I’m out and making the most of things, and looking for a more permanent solution than seasonal employment. But that’s neither here nor there.

I have, probably, the best boyfriend in the world, certainly the best I could ever hope for. He’s a bit rough to be around sometimes, but despite the constant attempts at being an asshole, deep inside he cares and holy hell is he supportive. That’s what I need more than anything else, someone to be emotionally supportive while I put myself through the wringer that is trying to get something published.

Perhaps the largest thing I’ve done this past year is throw myself into writing. I know I’ve said it before. I talk about it a lot, but I’m still wrapping my mind around it. I accepted the fact that I am a writer and it has made me a million times happier. The first thing I want to do in the morning is add words to whatever file I have open, even before coffee and breakfast.

So, there it is, the biggest highlights of last year. This year is going to be full of excitement and opportunity. I know it is, because 28 is a pretty cool number, plus I have no intention of sitting around and letting it be lame.

And, before I forget, my birthday celebration was pretty slamming. Other than the constant threats/promises of going to see Breaking Dawn. (I know she’s doing something right, but I really can’t stand the underdeveloped characters and shimmering vampires.) I’m glad for my friends, not just the ones that went with Randy and I, but everyone else too. I wouldn’t be where I am today without my friends, because while family is awesome, friends will go along with the crazy ideas long before they develop into rational, thought out ideas. All they ask is that you do the same in return, and maybe keep them from doing something that will land them in jail.

 

Leave a Reply

