The not so random thoughts roaming through my mind.

First, I should start by saying that my shift today was much better than the previous shifts I had this week. While it may sound like whining, or that I don’t want to work, it’s more that I’d appreciate some consistency in expectation. It’s really not too much to ask. Anyway, I’d still rather be writing, but that’s a permanent feature of my personality. And, just so we’re all on the same page, writing is work. It’s work I enjoy doing. I like the research, outlining, and plotting. I like getting into a character’s head and figuring out what’s going on in there that makes them so completely broken. I’m a writer. Plain and simple, that’s all there is to it.

Second, someone posted on Twitter about the Windows version of Scrivener. I’m running on the trial now and I know what I’m asking for as a Christmas gift (or getting myself if they do decide to keep me on past the holiday season.) I love being able to put all of my notes and thoughts in one place. I also love the “project targets” option. I’ve written just over 800 words today with most of that taking place before I went in for my shift. I need to play with the other features more, but I’d gladly pay the $40 for the program because I know it will help me get stuff done.

Third, I don’t much have one. I’m enjoying the time I have in front of the computer getting words into place. It makes me feel human, as strange as that may be. We each find our thing in life, hopefully sooner rather than later. Well, this is mine. I’m good at it. I could be better, of course, but that’s part of the learning process. However long that process is, I’m willing to follow it through. There’s something to be said about determination.

Leave a Reply

