What exactly to you mean by “overqualified?”

Somewhere between slogging through revisions, generating new content in the form of short stories and housework I’ve found time to toss job applications out in the the ether. I’ve gotten a lot of  this: “We don’t have a job offer for you at this time.” or “You’re overqualified.”

Seriously? You’re hiring. I want to work. And I know the job offer is still posted. I looked. I get that my credit score isn’t the greatest. I’m working on it. Which, by the way, is a hell of a lot harder to do when you don’t have steady income.

And overqualified? That’s not even a thing. That’s you seeing I have a Masters’ degree and freaking out because I won’t start at minimum wage. Shit, you should be paying me for my work experience anyway so what’s a little degree in education going to add to that? Not much. And, in case you haven’t noticed, there are no teaching jobs right now. It’s the middle of September and at this point, I really just want something.

And sure, I’ve got writing, but I’m the new kid on the block here. I have no experience other than stringing words together into sentences. Which, I’m pretty decent at, but still, that doesn’t guarantee anything. It’s  cold world out there and I don’t exactly have a name for myself yet.

I’ve done the research. I’ve looked into magazines and agents. I’ve read extensively on the query letter. I queried a bunch of agents with no luck. I realize now the novel wasn’t ready. I wasn’t ready. But, that’s a few months down I could have been using to make it better. Sure, I used it to write my second novel in the series and I realized a flaw in my writing that I’m working to fix.

Progress is progress. I’ll get there. It’s just a little scary to think about the possibilities awaiting me if nothing works out. Yeah. I’m not going to think about that. I’m going to generate a positive space and make it work for me.

2 Responses to “What exactly to you mean by “overqualified?””

  1. About a month ago my mood resembled yours. Sometimes it’s just not easy, only last week I was told if I was 21 I would be hired, but being29 meant there was a chance I had been tainted by the working world. I just shook my head and walked away. I don’t wanna work for someone like that, no matter what they are paying.

    But yeah easy for me to say that now I have a job. You will get there, keep plodding with the writing, and the job apps. Most importantly, keep smiling…..oh I’m cheesy this Sunday morning!

Leave a Reply

