Confessions and Comics, I really am strange and complex.

I found this weird productive streak in the last two days. It’s strange and eerie but I’m going to take it. On top of finishing revisions yesterday, I nailed the beginning of a short story I’m sending out to competition and roughed out the beginning of one for a personal collection I’m working on. One took place away from the computer in my journal because I really do want to fill it with amazing things before I get my new one in October.

I’m just going to toss this out there. I hate writing resumes. There’s something fake about distilling my experiences onto one to two sheets of paper and coming up with the best bits. I feel like I’m trying too hard to find the right words and not enough time showing them what I can do. Which is fantastic because I claim to have good communication skills. Though, I suppose if you can captivate a group of eighth graders for eighty minutes then you have to be good at some version of storytelling. High school students are a little more forgiving, but only just a fraction. At least in my experience.

Another thing I’m going to toss out there, I’m sort of okay with the reset on Green Arrow. I get two comics a month. Green Arrow and Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris. Green Arrow because I have a thing for superheroes without powers and always found Ollie to be a little less pretentious than Bruce Wayne. Dejah Thoris because Heinlein mentioned the stories in his books and when I saw the comic on the list I wanted to get it. Which amuses my boyfriend because our comic shop likes to give me the “but her nipples are covered so it’s okay” covers.

I still need to do my writing for the night, but I have a decent amount of energy still. This is surprising since today was the first day we went to the gym. Exercise bike for half an hour and I’m feeling it in my thighs and butt. I’m good with that. Maybe Friday I’ll log some time on the treadmill. I can run my writer angst out.

Leave a Reply

