I do need the part of my brain where the words live.

I’m waiting for the day when I can say I’ve been busy because I’ve been our promoting my book, not because I’ve been working on a day job. Since I haven’t published yet, I am glad for the hours at work. I just wish they didn’t leave me feeling like I lost part of my brain. The important part. The one with all the words in it. I need that part.

I’m sure there are people who would argue against that. The world doesn’t need another writer not contributing to society they’ll say. (These people are assholes. They’re the same ones that said the President had issues with reality because he reads fiction.) Go, get a real job, do things for society.

My response is a good one. After I get done staring through narrowed eyes and resist the urge to break faces it breaks down into a long-winded diatribe. I have my Masters’ degree in education. My intent was to do something good for society, but society decided that we didn’t need to educate our children in any profound way. They passed a test! Fantastic, they’re ready for college. Except, they aren’t. Those kids coming into college this year aren’t ready. Some of them might be, but those are the kids that decided to take their education into their own hands. They’re the ones that got bored and sought out information on their own.

I should be getting ready to stand in front of a bunch of teenagers and teach them chemistry in a couple of weeks. Instead, I have no idea what I’m doing for income after next Monday. I should be trying out new labs and finding decorations for my classroom. Instead, I’m staring at my notes for short stories, crossing my fingers that something sells.

Now, I don’t want anyone to get the idea that I wouldn’t be writing. I would be. I’m a writer. It’s what I do and writers serve a function in society. They’ve replaced the storytellers of old, providing wisdom and entertainment for the masses. I would just be writing while having a steady job. I would be writing much less the first couple years while I build up my reservoir of lesson plans and materials.

I guess my point was, this country is messed up. It’s going in a direction it doesn’t want to go in, but everyone’s too afraid to say it. The outcomes are going to be bad. They’re going to be dark, and the young kids we’re turning to out of college to lead the way, they’re going to be lost because we put so many things above their education.

Leave a Reply

