Sometimes I have Good Ideas. The Beginning of a new Project.

Sitting in my office, trying to decide if it’s already too warm at 10:30 in the morning to be back here trying to make words happen, I came across a new idea. This one is nonfiction. This one will have a title something like: The Death of the Family Farm. With some sort of subtitle to be worked out later. Maybe, Memories from the Last Generation.

If I write it, I’m going to cry a lot. It’s a story I think should be told though. The sort of story that someone will find compelling, if only my family and the people who knew my great grandparents.

Shit. There are the tears already and I haven’t even started yet. I guess, just thinking about it is enough. Anyway, the stuff I don’t know or remember I can look up. And I wish to hell I thought of this two years ago when Grandpa was still alive.

I know there have been books on the history of Candor. I know they’ve talked about my family some, but this… This project is different. It has the raw emotion of being lived. All those memories poured into my head through experience. The things that are ingrained in me, the muscle memory… And I’m not pulling any punches. No sugar coating the family drama. I can’t possibly end up more ostracized than I am already. Well, I could, but I don’t care. It’s all part of what made me who I am.

This is going to be awesome. I might start on it later today. After I get my word count on the novel done…. and job applications. Those need to happen too. Time to make things happen.

Leave a Reply

