Writing first, then I’ll put on the Hazmat Suit.

Coffee on my left. Ice-cold water on the right sitting on an impromptu coaster. I have my breakfast, lemon Greek yogurt.

Outside, far from my windows, the sun is shining. Leaves dance in a light breeze. It’s a beautiful summer day. The sort that makes you smile, even if you feel miserable.

And I’m inside. Not that I’m complaining. There’s a lot that needs to be done. More than just writing. The house resembles a disaster area. Pockets of chaos, and not even the organized kind. I’m afraid of what might be lurking in hidden spaces. But, I will be brave and start the process…

After I get some writing done. I figured out my giant gap between where I am now and where I want my characters to be in 15,000 words. Well, less than 15,000 now, but those are technicalities.

I’m just glad I have a plan for this thing. I know I said I write without outlines and don’t usually plan more than a chapter ahead, but this feels bigger somehow. It might be the dedication I’ve made to this character. She’s been with me for a long time, in a few different forms, but I feel like I finally understand her. Either way, this novel is going to be good. No. Better than good. It’s going to be excellent.

Leave a Reply

