Video Games as a Reward. This Might Work.

It’s a cool, breezy day promising thunderstorms and I am wearing my Doctor Who shirt. (It has the Tardis and underneath say “You never forget your first Doctor.” Coincidentally, Tennant.) I fell like I can take on anything right now. Even a massive word count that needs to get done. Or, Batman: Arkham Asylum.

I started playing the game the other day when I got frustrated with driving around LA. I last much longer with the driving than I thought I would, and got all the clues in the process of solving the case.

Anyway, Batman starts out a little cheesy. You’re really just moving the character forward for the first 10-15 minutes, but when shit hits the fan, it gets so much better. There was a part I played through yesterday afternoon that freaked me out at 4:00pm. It was a sunny day yesterday too. So, yeah, kudos to the game designers/writers.

Playing is my reward for hitting my word count goals. It keeps me from saying “I have all day to get those 2500 words down, I can take my time and mess around.” Now it’s more like, I want to play. Let’s get the writing done, now remember, good quality words, even if it is the zero draft.  It’ll be less to clean up later.

My adventure for the day starts with taking the boyfriend to class, then going to the bank. After that, I have a murder to solve. Then I can save people by running around in a bat costume. It’s nice to have a plan.

Leave a Reply

