I Might have Overestimated the Dificulty

You know, this whole process of researching and finding agents to query isn’t as frightening as I imagined it to be. I have some good candidates in my list of possibilities. It’s not a super huge list, but if 1/4 of them decide I’m worth representing, then I’m still calling it a win.

The real trick is that each one has different guidelines for submission. Each letter needs to be tailored to what they want. I knew it in the back of my head. I saw it when reading blogs and writing advice from people more experienced than I. It’s different getting in there with your hands and feeling it out.

The best analogy I can think of is not something you want to read while eating. I’m sure I’ve mentioned that I grew up on a farm. Well, there’s no shortage of things to be done or babies being born. Most of our calves came in the summer or fall. We tried to do it that way because no one wants to be up to their elbows in placenta in January. You spend all this time hearing about what it feels like, what to do if you have to get in there and help that calf be born, but you never quite get it until you actually stick your hands up in there to do it.

The minefield that is finding an agent seems like that to me, only much cleaner. Much, much cleaner. Or, at least less sticky.

Leave a Reply

