Tuesday

Tuesday of spring break, and I’ll be leaving for Mom’s in less than two hours to spend most of the day with her. Well, the main goal of the trip is to help her get four of the six dogs their rabies vaccines.  That’s right, Mom has six dogs. You can imagine what that does to productivity. My little Netbook cannot take the 50 – 80 lbs the dogs want to throw on top of it. The most manageable of the bunch is the little beagle and she still weighs more than I would want on top of my keyboard.

This isn’t to say that nothing will get done. I have come to the belief that writers, and perhaps all creative types, can work out problems with a project just below their surface thoughts. It’s a magical talent that lets us participate in conversations while negotiating plot points. Something I rather enjoy doing. Or, maybe I just enjoy having an “ah-ha” moment and the ensuing look of confusion from whomever I’m talking to. I can be a bit of a jerk at times.

I should bring my little plaid, fabric-covered journal, and a sharpie pen. (Side note, most amazing pens ever. I prefer the medium point, and lost a red one. I still get a little upset when I think about it.) Having something to scribble down ideas in, or random bits of dialouge is always a plus. Especially if having a computer around is hazardous for the computer… So, journals are good. Sharpie pens are amazing. I’m only a little biased.

I’m going to enjoy spending some time with Mom. I don’t get to see her nearly as often as  I would like. My schedule has been insane, and doesn’t look to get any saner as we begin summer. And the computer, that will be nice and safe, far away from the dogs. It’s going to stay home for this day trip.

Leave a Reply

