Time to get back in the chair…

I’ve been a very bad writer lately. Maybe I should clarify. It’s not that my writing itself has been bad, it’s that I haven’t been writing. I’ve been overwhelmed by the sheer amount of crap that needs to be done in the next four weeks.

Why the next four weeks? Because that’s how much time is left before I am the proud recipient of a Master’s degree in a field that is still suffering continued job loss. That’s right, education. Two years ago when I started this, there was promise of finding a job. Now, not so much. It’s like the magical well dried up and there’s nothing left out there.

So, what do I do? I decide to try and make a living off something I’ve been doing since I was old enough to do so. I’ve been telling stories since I was four. Not just the usual stories a child tells, but stories with actual plot. I told them to my Great-Grandparents while sitting on a hay bale in the barn waiting for Mom to get done. I transitioned to paper around the age of seven. It was all downhill from there.

It wasn’t until recently that I thought I could actually make a living off my words. It was about the same time I figured out the necessity of editing and the rewrite. I was one of those people who believed it was good enough the first time through. I can safely say it wasn’t. I cringe whenever I read things I wrote in high school. I think all writer’s do.

All right, maybe I haven’t been a bad writer. Maybe I’ve just been working with skewed priorities the last few days. Spring break is this week. This means I can focus on my writing and pick away at some of the work that needs to be done too.

Writing first. I’m off to finish a novel now. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

